A Winter Weather Poem

Early this morning, there arose such a clatter;

I sprang from my bed to see from where came the chatter.

Away to the window I flew like a flash, pulled up the blinds and threw up the sash.

And what to my wondering eyes did appear, but a v-shaped formation of honking Canada Geese!

They passed overhead, wings rapidly beating as if to warn me that winter is coming

I pulled in my head and turned around, knowing there soon will be snow on the ground

So today my task is to prepare, my family’s cold weather wear

thermals and snowpants, scarves, hats and mittens

jackets and snow boots and  other warm things.

The problem with kids is that they keep growing,

and you don’t want to be caught with the wrong size when it’s snowing.

And unlike the geese, we do not migrate

So I must head to the store before it’s too late.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wil
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 13:19:11

    FUN!!!! I like the light hearted approach to the serious necessity of winter wear/gear for those of us who, unlike geese, can’t change our environment so have to change our outer skins

    Like

    Reply

  2. themiddlegeneration
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 14:43:08

    It seems strange to think winter is almost here when it is 55 and sunny today. Those honking geese gave me a good reality check, though, and I went through my inventory. Don’t wanna be unprepared.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

