Holiday Greetings!

English: s

Image via Wikipedia

With 10 days left until Christmas, one of my favorite rituals is beginning to take place. Almost every day when I walk to my mailbox, I find a couple of greeting cards! I can hardly wait to go inside and open them. I love seeing who addressed them to me and think about when I last spoke with them on my way in. Sometimes I am too busy to open them immediately. I prefer to read them when I have a few quiet minutes to appreciate their photos and hear what they have been up to during the past year.

Most of us are at the point where we write annual family newsletters to include with our cards, which are usually composed of family pictures. I enjoy hearing what my friends and their children, parents or pets have been doing. Every year, I resolve to try harder to keep in touch- on a regular basis, not just once a year. But then a few months go by, and I don’t feel like there is a newsworthy event to report or I find other excuses why not to pick up the phone and call.

This year I am including my email address with the letter and hope that people will send theirs as well. What I would really like to do is send a handwritten card via “snail” mail; but somehow I just never seem to get around to it. Well, hopefully I will get my holiday cards out in the mail tomorrow and then I will make my resolution for 2012. Maybe this year I can hold myself to it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Carol Lanctot
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 13:44:54

    That handwritten card thing became just too time consuming – and then I have this little nagging “green” thing, thinking about how those cards end up in the landfill when the holiday is over. At least that’s my excuse for going to emailed cards when I can, and having to print only a few paper cards. However they come, it is the thought that matters, I think.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

