A Hanukkah Meal

Last night we celebrated Hanukkah over a special meal. My husband came home with a small chicken , 2 parsnips and a bag of potatoes. He threw the chicken in the stock pot along with some onions, celery and carrots and we savored the salty aroma for the next couple of hours. Earlier in the day I had prepared applesauce out of the last of our hand-picked apples from the orchard. I boiled them, ran them through the food mill and added cinnamon, the smell of which still lingered in the kitchen. The combination of chicken, herbs and spices made our mouths water in anticipation of our favorite Hanukkah meal.

While the soup was cooking, my husband grated the potatoes and parsnips, which he would fry in oil and serve as latkes. When the broth was ready, he added matzah balls and served us each a hearty bowl of chicken soup.      It would not feel like Hanukkah without this traditional first course. Before we dug in, we lit the menorah- this time choosing the one my daughter had painted when she was little. Ahh, the memories… 

After the soup was finished, we threw some dreidels and gelt (chocolate candy) on the table for a few rounds while the latkes were frying in the pan. At first we happily sang the dreidel song each time someone spun it, but it quickly became too repetetive and drove my daughter crazy so we focused on competing to win all the gelt (Gimel).

Finally the latkes were ready. Their salty, crisp coating smelled so good we could hardly wait. We served them with a large scoop of sweet applesauce.     MMmmmm…it doesn’t get much better than this. Happy Hanukkah!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jovan Casana
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 19:30:53

    Hello, I really like your blog. Is there something I can do to receive updates like a subscription or some thing? I am sorry I’m not familiar with RSS? http://www.ctctradeshows.com

    Like

    Reply

    • themiddlegeneration
      Jan 16, 2012 @ 20:51:18

      Hi, I’m glad you like my posts enough to consider following them. If you want to be notified of new ones, click on the Follow My Blog on the sidebar and you should be able to sign up. I try to post 3-4 times a week, so that should be a helpful way to know on which days I have a new one up. Thanks.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

