An Adventurous Start to the New Year

Did anyone else get up in the middle of the night to watch the Quadrantid meteor shower?

A crop and enhacement of a Perseid Meteor I ca...

Image via Wikipedia

It is definitely something that I would not have done under normal circumstances, given that we have just returned to school/work and are back on our early morning rising time.  Would I have gotten a better night’s sleep and woken up more refreshed? Probably; but was it worth it? Yes, and I’ll tell you why…

First of all (and probably the deciding factor) I was able to observe from the steamy warmth of our strategically placed hot tub. I had laid out my robe and water bottle before going to bed, so all I had to do was grab them and step into the tub. Secondly, we waited until the moon had set, so the sky was reasonably dark and the neighborhood was very peaceful. We had a wide open view of the sky, unobstructed by clouds and the wind had died down so that we didn’t feel the chill on our faces.

My husband and I reclined against the headrest, eyes wandering to locate the shooting stars, exclaiming and pointing when we chanced on a sighting. At one point we were spotting one per minute, but that was after 5-10 minutes of letting our eyes adjust enough to notice the streaks of light passing overhead. Stargazing takes a certain amount of patience, something I tend to be short on in the middle of the night. But last night the only reason we decided to end our observations was that we were starting to shrivel from the hot water.

Before we got out, we exchanged a new year’s kiss, thanking each other for pushing us to do something outside of our routine. What a great way to kick off the year – enjoying and appreciating nature and spending a special moment with the one we love. It’s amazing that something as simple as stepping off our normal path can prove to be so rewarding. It is a good reminder that life is what we make of it. Even though this may not truly qualify as an adventure, it should be an inspiration for other opportunities this year. I will be keeping my eyes open.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jake
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 21:55:32

    This post was very nicely written, and it also contains many useful facts. I appreciated your professional manner of writing this post. You have made it easy for me to understand.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

