Left hanging by Exercise TV

Before the holidays arrived, I had established a disciplined routine for myself. As soon as my kids left for school, I turned on my Exercise TV yoga workout. I would spend 25 minutes clearing my mind in downward dog or warrior II. Then I would take a steamy shower and by the time I came back downstairs I was ready to start my blog. After Thanksgiving, the chaos of the holidays season came crashing into my routine and threw it off balance. When January rolled in I hoped to return to the calmness of knowing what I was doing every day.

During the first week the kids were back in school, I searched my tv guide frantically. What had happened to my Exercise TV? I finally googled the topic and found out that the channel had shut down at the end of 2011. There were no suitable replacements available on cable (at least not for free). I don’t need to listen to discussions about diet and nutrition or hear stories about successful weight loss. I need someone to talk me through my workout. Whether I need encouragment to hold the pose just a little longer or to push my heart rate a little higher, having a trainer tell me what to do has a better rate of success than doing it on my own.

The other problem is that now I have to find another way to clear my head and free my thoughts. Those inverted poses really got the juices flowing. You’d think by now I could create my own routine, but at 8am I don’t have much willpower and a cup or two of coffee seems so much easier. Caffeine is not as effective as exercise though. Maybe I will have to resort to buying a dvd and popping it in every morning.

For now I’ll have to rely on my dogs to get me moving. Maybe a good jolt of cold air will be a refreshing start to my morning…

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 14:23:23

    Having things you like just disappear is definitely not fair. It’s like finding jeans that fit just the way you want and then someone decides to update and improve. Now they just aren’t the same and you have to start your search all over. Should we organize a protest – maybe even occupy (someplace warm)?

    Like

    Reply

  2. Cody Pullar
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 00:34:10

    This is the precise blog for anyone who desires to search out out about this topic. You notice a lot its virtually arduous to argue with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You undoubtedly put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, simply great!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Daniell Conforme
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 12:00:19

    I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually not often do I encounter a weblog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve gotten hit the nail on the head. Your idea is excellent; the issue is something that not sufficient individuals are talking intelligently about. I’m very joyful that I stumbled across this in my seek for something regarding this.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Meridith Simpelo
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 23:55:45

    Hey there. I truly would like to firmly make a nice swift comment and also inform you grasp that I’ve been pursuing your personal wordpress blog for quite some time. Keep up the fantastic task and I’ll be browsing back again much more in the near future.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Trackback: No Exercise TV? No problem « themiddlegeneration
  6. bokenbaker
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 12:16:06

    Hi there! I noticed this the other day, such a bummer! They had a great set of weights workouts and yoga and pilates. There are plenty online you can do on YouTube or get a DVD with a few different yoga routines. Good luck!

    Like

    Reply

    • themiddlegeneration
      Jan 31, 2012 @ 12:37:42

      I recently posted on this topic again. i have come up with a solution which does not involve a dvd, but rather trust in myself to create my own workout. I actually find it more motivating and peaceful than following a tv persona.

      Like

      Reply

  7. Janella Chriss
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 13:32:47

    I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Angus McDougall
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 16:13:17

    I have observed that in the world these days, video games are definitely the latest craze with children of all ages. Occasionally it may be difficult to drag your son or daughter away from the activities. If you want the very best of both worlds, there are lots of educational gaming activities for kids. Great post.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Teddy Macneal
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 03:21:16

    nice blog

    Like

    Reply

  10. Paulita Bochat
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 15:04:41

    I appreciate your submission, previously interesting and compelling. I have found my way here through Google, I shall return another time 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

