Ski Lessons

seen from diagonally behind the skier

Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday I wrote about the bonding experience my family had during our hotel stay. The reason we were there was to spend the weekend skiing. [In an earlier post I talked about our plans for some fun winter activities.  see entry for 11/11/11]. We had chosen two smaller resorts, which would be less popular for people from our area, decreasing the likelihood of encountering anyone we knew. Teenagers seem to have a sensitive radar detector which makes them believe that everyone notices everything they do. Skiing turned out to be a way to take some risks and handle embarrassments calmly.

My son and I started out first. We had seasonal rentals and were able to get on the slopes while my daughter and husband were fitted for their gear. Right away we had our first mishap. As we boarded the chair lift, his ski popped off. The attendant stopped the lift and retrieved his ski. Unfortunately, he had to carry the ski during the ride and was destined to fall when he got off. He took it in stride and we set out. We had only taken the first descent when his ski detached again. We spent 5 minutes trying to get it back on, clearing snow out of the binding or trying to find flatter ground to stop on. All the while, he kept insisting that it was broken. I finally conceded he was right and we took our skis off, trudging up the steep hill back to the lift.
No attendants were available to help us. I began to get frustrated. What if we had an actual emergency? Maybe it wasn’t a good idea to come to such a small mountain if there wasn’t a safety patrol around. You can see where my mind was going… Finally a fellow skier noticed us and offered his assistance. He fiddled with the ski binding and then pointed out that my son’s boots had too much snow stuck to the sole. He helped clear them off and got the boot secured into the binding. I thanked him for his help and he kindly pointed out that there were easier trails we could ski from the other chairlift.
We got down to the bottom without further incident, but my son was in a bad mood. He felt humiliated that he needed to be helped by a stranger, who then must have thought he didn’t know how to ski. He became very grumpy and wanted to leave. Just then I spotted my husband and daughter heading toward the lower lift. We caught up to them and got in line. The kids decided to ride up together. I assume they shared stories about their experience so far. My husband and I observed them chatting and smiling from our chair behind them. By the time we got to the top, my son was in a much better mood and was eager to help his sister ski. He encouraged her to follow him, making sure to ski slowly, taking wide turns back and forth demonstrating good form and control.
Skiing

Having her brother as a model was good for my daughter. She had been very nervous about downhill skiing. Even though she has good balance and used to ski steep, curvy trails on cross country skis she lacked the confidence to do the same in this new sport. Everyone was willing to accommodate her by starting on the green (easy) trails. We stopped often, offering words of encouragement and some tips to improve her skills. Within a few runs, she had switched from snow plowing to slalom style and was able to stop hockey style. At that point we tried to convince her that she would be able to ski the blue (intermediate) trails. Brother was eager to move on to harder terrain, but said he preferred skiing together rather than going off with me again. (I think he was still embarrassed to run into someone who had witnessed us on the other hill). For me, the important part was being together and having fun- as long as it wasn’t the “bunny” hill. We were able to do a blue trail for our last run of the day, leaving everyone happy and looking forward to another opportunity to ski on Monday.

On Monday, we drove to a different resort which had a quadruple chair. We spent the entire time skiing together. There was a very long green trail, which wound its way down from the summit. After a few times, Sister was feeling confident enough to take some blue trails. We praised her on how much she had improved. She actually seemed to be having fun! At one point, as I was winding my way downhill, she came flying past me. She appeared to have good form, but was going much faster than I would have expected. Seconds later she fell when she hit a mogul. She got up and brushed herself off quickly. I pointed out that it was actually a good sign that she had fallen because it meant she was getting more comfortable with herself and more willing to take some risks. Before I knew it, she was off again following her brother down the trail.

As I watched them ski together, I got all happy inside. This is what an ideal family winter activity should be. I couldn’t wish for anything more wonderful!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 12:55:13

    Although skiing has never called to me, I think any activity that brings a family together is great. Family times create memories that will always be treasured and build a solid foundation for futures for the kids. My greatest pleasure with our family is the relationship my son and daughter have. He is her hero, and he adores her. Priceless!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Kari Frizzle
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 00:25:01

    For so many sports with your kids, it’s a matter of dropping them off then cheering from the sidelines. What I love about skiing is that the whole family can participate together and it combines chatting while on the chair with exercising in the great outdoors. I’ve started my oldest (she’s 5) in ski school this year and can’t wait til we can all head up the mountain as a family!

    Like

    Reply

  3. themiddlegeneration
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 14:51:37

    I’m glad your ski lessons are working out. I loved the pictures of you and your girls in the snow on your blog. It looks like they love to get out in the white stuff!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

