January Fog

Mother Nature is certainly playing some cruel tricks on Old Man Winter this year. Last weekend, we received a layer of delightfully fluffy snow. Not a lot, but enough to encourage snowmen and sledding in the neighborhood. The outdoor skating rink had finally opened and the cold spell had strengthened the ice enough for hockey.

Yesterday all that changed. The rain came through, followed by 40 degree weather. Today I awoke to a curtain of fog shrouding the road and camouflouging the trees. No wonder we are all in a haze. Even the Canada Geese can’t decide whether to stay or go. First they headed south, albeit a few weeks late, on their annual migration. Less than a month later, they returned for an early spring. When the cold snap hit again, I heard them all fly away toward the warmer climate. I won’t be surprised if they come back soon, depending if this warm spell lasts.

Usually I anticipate the January thaw. But that is only after at least a month of cold weather and several snow storms. This year it is like winter didn’t even happen.    Now all that is left of last weekend’s snowfall are a few piles from melted snowmen

and some puddles.

All this flip flopping drives me crazy! Do I need my snow boots or my mud boots? My hat and gloves, or just a scarf? My winter coat or my fleece? At least I have options, unlike the birds whose only alternative is to travel back and forth to keep warm.

  Can they even find their way through this fog?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Running in Shorts on January 24th = WOW! « A Veteran Runnah
  2. Carol
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 11:49:52

    Love that first foggy picture! Does this winter make you worry about what summer might bring? It does me.

    Like

    Reply

  3. themiddlegeneration
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 14:14:45

    It sounds like all your snow is melting away too. Definitely some strange climate changes going on.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Homepage
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 19:23:30

    Hello. splendid job. I did not expect this. This is a fantastic story. Thanks!… You made certain fine points there. I did a search on the subject matter and discovered the majority of folks will have the same opinion with your blog…. 673373

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

