Mud Season

We are now in the month of February. Pawxatauney Phil has seen his shadow and 6 more weeks of winter are predicted. Given the way the climate seems to have shifted this year, I fear that means we will have a longer mud season rather than snow. Yesterday the temperature reached 60 here, 25 degrees above normal. The hard frozen turf had started to thaw, becoming squishy under my feet. The little piles of snow and ice had melted, forming murky puddles everywhere.

By this afternoon, the ice should have melted.

There are only two things to do- walk on the road and avoid them, or don your boots and old jeans and embrace them.

When I taught preschool, I always took my students outside, even if it was muddy. I knew that most parents would prefer not to deal with muddy children at home, but would not object to washing snowpants or boots off as long as the kids were clean and well-exercised by the time they went home. My own son often spent hours roaming the wooded area behind the house, tramping through muddy puddles in search of frogs.     Much to my annoyance, he could care less if his pants and shoes were caked in mud. At least I was able to train him to strip down in the narrow entryway we call our  “mud hall”, leaving his shoes, socks, pants and coat on the rack or tray.     

I never had to worry about my daughter getting muddy. She would hold the frogs in her hand if he brought them back to the yard, but she would not chase them into the mud if they got away.      She preferred to let her brother do the dirty work.

Everyone has their own level of tolerance for such things.  When I looked up other posts about mud, I found two that caught my eye (see related links below). They both have pictures of people frolicking in the mud. I certainly enjoy the cool nourishing feeling of a mud mask from time to time, but mud wrestling does not appeal to me.

Unfortunately, my dogs have no concerns about splashing through the puddles or digging in the mud. They don’t consider the consequence that they will need a bath, which they hate. So that leaves me with the dilemma. Do I let them run off leash, sniffing and enjoying the thrill of the mud;       

or do I keep them on the road where the best they can do is follow the mailbox trail?   

I better stock up on some doggie shampoo. It’s gonna be a long mud season.

Check out these sites for a laugh:

http://elenamaimonis.wordpress.com/2012/01.26/laugh/

http://www.townofguilderland.org/Pages/GuilderlandNY_Recreation/MudMania

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 12:17:16

    I think you are so right, I think it’ll be a long mud season. Our chubby-butt girl, Shasta (who is on an eternal diet) hangs lower to the ground than Bailey so she returns from walks with her belly sprayed with mud from running through the wet grass and the mud puddles. Of course, being white makes it show up better than it does on black Bailey. My kitchen floor has an interesting design – funny muddy prints from where Shasta has laid down.

    Like

    Reply

  2. themiddlegeneration
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 13:25:49

    I think I am resigned to keeping a towel by the door for wiping muddy paws off. Everytime they run out to chase a squirrel, they come back splattered. And it’s only February…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

