Superbowl Sunday

Last night my family, like so many others across the U.S., sat down together to watch the Superbowl. My husband has always been a Patriot’s fan and was routing for Tom Brady all night. My son has a friendly rivalry with him by going against the Patriots- so last night he was pulling for Eli Manning and the Giants.

My daughter and I are not big football fans and still rely on an explanation of plays or calls we don’t understand. However, she was content to plan the family menu for the evening while I anticipated the half-time show. Normally I look forward to the commercials, but with this new policy of pre-viewing the ads in the days leading up to the game, I really didn’t think there would be many surprises.

I braved the crowds at the grocery store to get the ingredients we needed for our menu. We kept it simple so I didn’t start prepping until 5pm. Just before the kickoff, we each claimed our boxes on the score chart and then drew numbers. My son was in charge of letting us know who had a chance of winning each quarter, often breaking it down for me- explaining that if a field goal or a touchdown was scored who held the appropriate box. That certainly had me paying attention to the game. Since I had no preference for either team,  I could cheer for whoever would make the score a winner for me.

During the first quarter, we munched on our raw veggies with chips and dip as well as our mini pigs in a blanket.

By the time the loaded potato skins and wings came out it was almost half-time.

  

We laughed together at some of the commercials and my kids rolled their eyes when I sang along with Madonna to Like a Prayer.

We all were riveted to the game until the end, as it could have gone either way in a blink of an eye. When the Giants claimed victory, my son gave my husband a good ribbing. So whether we watched for the action, the entertainment or the food,  it was a fun family night.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stmarco
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 01:28:21

    Sounds like a fun family evening!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Carol
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 14:59:58

    You had the important stuff – family together, enjoying. And good food. Your menu was far more interesting than ours!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

