Time Passes

A few days ago I was skiing. Today I was raking my yard. It’s been a crazy winter weatherwise.

Here are a few pictures showing the passing of time and season in the last few days.

BEFORE

AFTER

LATER

NOW

Is it winter or spring? In a few days we turn the clocks ahead, meaning we will have longer afternoon hours to enjoy the outdoors. Spring doesn’t officially arrive until the 20th; but I am itching to start some seedlings indoors. I’m not sure what happened to Old Man Winter this year. I hope he doesn’t make a comeback at the very end. I’m ready for Spring.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Looking Out The Window
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 09:01:05

    Like you I have spring fever in a bad way unfortunately here spring is a couple months away.

    Like

    Reply

    • themiddlegeneration
      Mar 08, 2012 @ 10:26:24

      Technically, we are prone to frost until mid May, but the last few years I have been planting outdoors in April. Sometimes we get a frost, but usually throwing newspare over my seedlings is enough for the lone clod night. Good luck with your chick plans. At least that will get you looking at Spring.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Carol
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 13:49:16

    I haven’t seen any sprouts yet, but it’s usually mid-April before daffodils show up here. And they usually get snowed on at least once.

    Like

    Reply

  3. stmarco
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 15:28:11

    Wherever we live, I think we get used to the rhythms of the seasons even knowing there are always variations. These rhythms are changing now, with pollinators and pollens out of sync in cases, and more severe weather events. Spring arrived mid-February here, which is actually right on schedule. I do enjoy the changing seasons and blossoms abound here, daffodils have been up for a month!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Winter Retreats « The Incredible Lightness of Seeing

Leave a Reply

