The New iPad3

English: iPad 2 back with SmartCover at the ri...

Image via Wikipedia

As the buzz about the new iPad3 hits the nation, my son is caught up in the glorification of its improved features. It is thinner, faster, has a better  “retina” screen (something about the way the eye can’t see the pixels because they are so refined) and incorporates voice commands like Siri. Sure it sounds cool, but is it really that much better? My son received an iPad2 for his birthday six months ago. He has been thrilled with it and he certainly has the best gadget in the house.

Apparently it is not enough for him. He wants to upgrade to the iPad3 and I do not approve. I think it shows a lack of appreciation for what he has and disrespect towards the giver of the gift. He disagrees, of course, and has made a plan to upgrade with his own money. I don’t think he realizes how hard he will have to work to accomplish his goal, but I decided to allow him to move ahead with it.

Together we established a list of jobs he could do in order to earn some cash. Some of these I vetoed, as they were expected all along. Others I gave a short term approval, hoping it would change things in the long run. Practicing his guitar without a reminder falls into that category. As much as he hates it when I nag him, I dislike doing it even more. Then there are the opportunities to do something really helpful, like mowing the lawn or helping paint the deck. He is also going to look for some babysitting jobs.

All of this has to fit in around his homework, his tennis practices and games, and the time he needs to spend with his new rabbit (another story). I told him if any of these are compromised because he is trying to earn money, I will not pay him. He still needs to keep his priorities in order.

Part of me is hoping that either he will realize he doesn’t have time to accomplish his goal or that the buzz will wear off as user reviews come in and he will decide it is not worth buying. It’s not that I want him to fail; but rather that I’d like him to come to that conclusion on his own, without me forbidding him to do it.

I have a feeling that he will prevail, though. He has determination and a strong will to succeed. My only consolation if he achieves this will be that he will have learned the value of working hard for something that he really wants. Now I just have to resist the urge to buy his iPad2. It would be a shame to let it go.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 11:52:41

    I tend to think, with both software and hardware upgrades, it’s best to skip a couple of those upgrades. You have version 2, wait until at least version 4. Then, maybe, there will be sufficient improvements to justify the cost. But then I’m no longer a teenager and my views have changed as the years pass. Then again, if you get his iPad 2, you will love it! I love mine (gifted to me by my kids), and one of my favorite things is getting my magazines on the iPad instead of in paper form.

    Like

    Reply

  2. themiddlegeneration
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 13:37:50

    I agree about waiting a gen or two for another upgrade. I don’t relate to his need for immediate change. I know I would love his iPad2, but I don’t want to give him any more encouragement or financial aid at this time. I’ll update when there is a resolution to the story.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

