It’s Lilac Season!

   I wish you could take a deep breath and inhale the fragrant aromas of my favorite flower. It is now the best season of the whole year- Lilac season. In between the flowering bulbs and shrubs comes the two-three week period when the lilacs are in full bloom. As their sweet scents fill the air I can hardly resist burying my face in amongst the blossoms.    Their fragrance makes me giddy with happiness.

I know where every lilac bush is in my neighborhood and purposely aim my walks to pass them by.

  They come in every shade of purple, as well as white.

My family knows my weakness for this special flower and one year bought me a lilac for Mother’s Day. Right now I have a bouquet with some flowers from that bush on my table.

To my great fortune, the previous owners of my house had planted a hedge of Korean Lilacs surrounding the deck. These are a later blooming variety; so once my traditional lilacs have faded, they will be at their peak-

extending my Lilac season by an extra week or so.  I’ll savor every breath, since Lilac season only comes once a year.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:34:56

    Oh yes! Lilacs and peonies – perfection! my lilac bushes are beginning to get little leaves now – it will be awhile before we have blooms and when they come, I will treasure them, cut them, bring them into my house to enjoy their scent wafting through the rooms. Then the peonies will share their beauty and lovely scents. Heaven!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. themiddlegeneration
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 08:30:15

    Peonies are another fragrant flower I love; but something about the timing of the lilacs just excites me. It’s an awakening of the senses after a long winter!

    Like

    Reply

  3. jennsmidlifecrisis
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 13:39:41

    Our flowers are a few weeks behind yours – but I’m looking forward to my lilac blossoms and my peonies too. I love peonies and they don’t last very long!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Lilac Alert! « Pheeled Trips
  5. Trackback: GARDEN MEMORIES & MOTHER’S DAY « PM27's Blog
  6. Trackback: 17th May 2012 – A Week in Purple – Purple Flora « My 2012 Photo Challenge
  7. Trackback: White lilacs « Greatpoetrymhf’s Weblog
  8. Trackback: Lilac Alert! « Crab's Nest
  9. creative labs powered pc speakers (t12) review
    May 26, 2013 @ 22:16:23

    We stumbled over here coming from a different website and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page for a second time.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Heavenly Lilac | Fika After Fifty Digital Photography and Art

Leave a Reply

