Judgement Day is here


We judge ourselves by what we feel capable of doing, while others judge us by what we have already done.

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (1807 – 1882)    http://www.quotationspage.com/quote/37991.html
Today I am dropping off two of my photos for an art show to be held at my local library. Even though I have posted dozens of photos on my blog, I have never been so nervous about putting my pictures out for people to see. This show will be judged and there is a possibility they may not even accept my pieces.
In the weeks leading up to May 1, I have been pouring through my photo collection, comparing different aspects of the pictures, editing for color or sharpness of the image and exposure.
I finally decided on two. Instead of going for relatively safe landscapes or floral displays, I opted for something that makes a statement. Or, should I say in my mind the message is loud and clear; the question will be whether or not the viewers get the same perception. Still, I decided I would rather enter something I am proud of and fail to be accepted, then enter a piece that had an easier chance of passing.
I spent the last four days getting prints made and purchasing a frame and mat. I ran back and forth to Staples 4 times with my flash drive, trying to get a copy that was the correct size and the right color. It is amazing how different the pictures look on my computer screen versus on paper. I had to redo the saturation and lighting twice until I got it right. Then there was the very important decision to be made about the title. One of them had the perfect title within it, the other did not have an obvious name or phrase so I decided to let it speak for itself.
Anyway, they are both framed and sitting in my living room awaiting their Judgement Day. I am a bit nervous, but I know I have given it my best effort and even if no one else appreciates my photos, I can hold my head high and be my own judge as to the worth of my photos.
That is the hardest thing of all. It is much harder to judge yourself than to judge others. If you succeed in judging yourself, it’s because you’re truly a wise man.
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince French writer (1900 – 1944)    http://www.quotationspage.com/quote/39983.html
And so without further ado, I present my photos to you. I’d love to hear what you think- honestly…

There is Hope LHJ 4/12

Untitled LHJ 4/09

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    May 01, 2012 @ 11:15:07

    Best of luck, Laura! And even if your photos don’t get accepted – remember that Dr. Seuss had his manuscripts rejected hundreds of time before being accepted.

    Like

    Reply

  2. themiddlegeneration
    May 01, 2012 @ 13:42:51

    Thanks for the words of encouragement!

    Like

    Reply

  3. stmarco
    May 01, 2012 @ 21:31:34

    Great photos! Good luck!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

