Getting Ready for Camp

Just when I thought I was back from vacation and ready to resume my routine, I have another task on my to do list- getting the kids ready for summer camp. In a few days I will be driving them 2-3 hours away for their respective overnight camps. My son is focusing on some serious tennis strategies and drills while my daughter will be taking classes in veterinarian medicine. I am sure they will each have a great time, but in the next few days we have some preparation to do.

First the easy things: washing the laundry and labelling the clothing they plan to bring, as well as buying twin xl sheets for their dorm beds. Next the annoying things: filling out paperwork, signing waivers and driving to the doctor’s office to get copies of their health forms. Finally, and most importantly, soothing the nerves. This will be a new experience for both of them. The questions arise: Will I make friends? Who do I tell if there is a problem? What if I don’t like it? Other than reassurance and distractions, I think the only way to calm the nerves is to tell them that we will come back to get them if there is any reason they need us. Of course, I am assuming that once they get there they will love it and would find it too embarrassing to call home, so they will stick it out, even if they become homesick.

In the meantime, all I can do is make sure they have everything they need for their 1-2 week stays. At least it is not college. Imagine how much preparation that will take. At least I have a few years. I’m looking at this experience as a trial run. It should be good practice for everyone.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Simon
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 15:07:00

    some of my best summer memories are from camp as a kid. No pressure but one of the best things was that my mom had always cleaned my room when I got back. I will always remember that. Good luck.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

