A Little Piece of Heaven

Little Piece of Heaven

My favorite time of the year is here once again- Lilac Season!  It only lasts about two weeks, but when it is Lilac Season sitting on my deck feels like heaven. The warm breezes blow the fragrant aromas of the abundant lilac bushes in my direction. I close my eyes and inhale the sweet air wafting in my direction.

It is a good thing I don’t have to drive anywhere tonight, as I am definitely DUIL-  “Dizzy Under the Influence of Lilacs”. I feel totally relaxed and at peace. I could sit here for hours-just feeling happy – engulfed in this little piece of heaven.

My husband was trying to converse with me, but I totally lost my focus. Instead, I blurted out, “when I die I want my ashes spread under a hedge of lilacs.”  I know I caught him off guard. I don’t expect to leave this world for a long time. But I was totally DUIL. I grabbed my camera and walked around the hedge, vainly trying to capture the essence. Unfortunately, there is no way a digital picture can convey the overpowering aromatherapy coming out of these bushes.

Lilacs7141

As I made my rounds, I made sure to notice all the other favorite scented flora that would be in full bloom by the time the lilacs were finished: Lovely Bearded Iris,

lush double Peony    Peony

and even the prickly Rosa Rugosa- which this bee seeemed drunk on.  Rose7147

They each have their own special perfume which can bring a smile to my lips as I raise the flower to my nose and inhale. I would approve any of these as a substitute resting place if no lilacs are available.

But until then, I prefer to experience a little piece of heaven on earth while I’m sitting on my deck, savoring my all too short Lilac season.

IMG_4328

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly Nielsen
    Jun 01, 2013 @ 12:44:54

    Oh lilacs are one of my favorites too. I made lilac jelly this year but I wasn’t sure what to expect. It was lovely! Smells just lime the flowers. I went to get lilacs to make more but it had started raining and that was the end of lilac season 🙂 I do have 4 more pints to last throughout the year though. Gotta love the smell!

    Like

    Reply

    • themiddlegeneration
      Jun 01, 2013 @ 21:01:11

      I have never heard of lilac jelly. It sounds intriguing. If it is a way of capturing the scent, you could make a desirable product that alot of people would appreciate. Enjoy it until next season.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Carol
    Jun 01, 2013 @ 15:01:36

    Our lilacs are the best they’ve ever been and seem to be lasting longer. Now I’m going to go cut what will probably be the last bouquet for this year. As you said, the peonies ans iris are not far behind.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Looking Out The Window
    Jun 02, 2013 @ 11:24:22

    I am struggling to get Lilacs to grow where I live. I really miss the passage of spring with them. I must count my other blessings of the mountains, but would live a lilac so I keep trying

    Like

    Reply

  4. SuziCate
    Jul 05, 2013 @ 12:37:48

    Lilacs are my favorite! Yours are lovely…I can almost smell that beautiful sweetness all the way over here! I bought a lilac bush last year. It’s still very small but bloomed both spring and summer last year. Love those fragrant beauties!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

