The Magic of a Snow Day

For those of you who live in parts of the globe that have been overwhelmed with snow and ice this season, I hope this post will bring you back to my perspective.
We are already into the month of February and, for those of us in upstate NY who love winter sports, it has been a very disappointing winter. Freezing temperatures without snow cover is the worst possible combination ( right up there with 40 degrees and that damp, raw feeling in the air that we get in the spring). Out of all the snow storms the Weather Channel has now decided deserve names, there has been very limited snow here. We seem to get hyped up, overestimated results followed by warming trends where it all melts away.
My family enjoys cross country skiing which, unlike downhill, is totally dependent on Mother Nature’s whims. Our weather pattern has gone from snow to grass with bitterly cold weather in between. When this latest storm, Nika, was predicted to dump up to a foot in my area, I just shrugged and went about my business. Sure, I took the necessary precautions like getting groceries and filling my gas tank and my husband brought in several loads of firewood; however,  I did not cancel or change any plans assuming it would be a normal, busy day.
Nevertheless,  I asked my kids for I instructions on what to tell them if I learned there would be a cancellation the next day. Thanks to modern technology,  I did not need to set an alarm and wake up to check the tv or computer for that information. Instead, at 5:30 am my cellphone beeped me awake witha text message that the district would be closed all day.
I went into my daughter’s room and whispered “snow day”. She happily repeated my words and snuggled back under her covers for a longer sleep. I didn’t even disturb my son, so when he awoke several hours later and realized the time, I heard “SNOW DAY!” echo out of his room. My husband even decided to work from home today.Thus, instead of all heading in opposite directions, we sat down for a “big breakfast”, another family ritual consisting of bacon, home fries and pancakes.
The appointments on our calendar have been cancelled and there is a fire burning in our fireplace, as well as a roast slow-cooking in the oven. So far, only the dogs have ventured outside. From the comfort of my home, I have observed my neighbors digging themselves out and heading off down the poorly plowed road . The mail has been delivered regardless of the 8+ inches of snow but we are all still in our lounge wear with no urge to dig out and return to the rush of the real world.
There is something serene and magical about being trapped in the house on a snow day. Not a care in the world (because thankfully we have not lost power) and all obligations put aside. The bustle of the world feels hushed by the fluffy blanket of fresh snow. Those bears have it right- winter is the season for hibernation. We humans only get snow days…

Before

image

Before

After

image

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wilwalkaz@aol.com
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 20:51:03

    Sounds like a lovely day! I guess tomorrow is is back to a (slushy) reality.. Xoxoxo

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

    Reply

  2. themiddlegeneration
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 21:30:28

    Yes, that is probably what will happen. All the more reason to enjoy the moment.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Carol
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 12:14:44

    Just as you enjoyed your snow day, sometimes a rainy day can give the same effect – although that does not ensure that the whole family will be home. For me, an occasional rainy day seems to make it okay to curl up inside and read, or nap, or just vegetate. I would not, however, want either a snow day or a rainy day as a steady diet.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    Reply

    • themiddlegeneration
      Feb 06, 2014 @ 18:05:14

      I agree these kind of down days are only special if they are rare. Today I was quite happy to be out and about- esp. when I spontaneously decided to grab my skis and head to a nearby nature preserve. It was a treat!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

