The “Cool Mom” moment

It takes a lot to impress my 15 year old son at this phase in his life when he thinks he knows everything. However, today I accomplished something that earned me his admiration, an extra big hug and a bouquet of lilacs. Let me side track briefly by saying that not only did I impress him, but I also overcame all the obstacles Apple puts up to limit us to buying music only from their iTunes Store.

My son enjoys music that most teenagers don’t even know about. He and a friend are fans of King Crimson, who put out their first album in 1969. The group did not sell out to iTunes so the boys searched for the CDs on Ebay and bought as many as they could find. The only problem was that he doesn’t own a CD player and his portable device is an Ipad. This morning he presented me the stack of CDs and told me he would do anything I asked of him if I could load the music onto it. While he was at school I tackled the challenge with determination. Maybe I wanted to prove myself to him in this age of technology, or maybe I just wanted to make him happy. Either way, it was an arduous process which included  backing up his Ipad to the PC and then importing and syncing 11 albums. There were long delays while all his files transferred to the computer and it was frustrating at times. This was not how I had planned to spend my day.

Fortunately , by the time he came home I had managed to complete the challenge and nearly 80 songs from 11 albums were loaded onto his device. I received a huge smile and a big hug, as well as a “Wow, Mom  you did it! Thank you soooo much!”. Now he is happily mowing the lawn with his new music blasting on his headphones. And I am savoring a “Cool Mom Moment”- because I know it won’t last long.

IMG_8413

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 17:19:46

    And you have recorded it for posterity and to savor again when you are in need of a “cool mom” moment.

    Like

    Reply

  2. themiddlegeneration
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 20:30:08

    Yes, it is always good to have those moments to look back on. Maybe I should add a photo of the lovely lilac bouquet too. Very thoughtful sign of appreciation.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Jim Hall
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 21:21:23

    nice post

    Like

    Reply

  4. Looking Out The Window
    Jun 08, 2014 @ 08:57:36

    I loved this moment you shared.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

