How to Survive a Kitchen Makeover: Tip 1

You may wonder why I am posting the above title on a blog title The Middle Generation. Here is my explanation:

After a dozen years in this house and many DIY home improvements, Husband and I have decided to bite the bullet and treat ourselves to new kitchen- One we can enjoy cooking in, together or with our family, without tripping over each other. We also accepted the idea that this was too big a deal to tackle on our own. We hired a designer and worked out a plan with him. It will completely change the layout which requires moving plumbing, electric, gas lines and ventilation system. (see below for before and projected after shots).

IMG_8483    IMG_8485   IMG_8479

BEFORE: CROWDED, POOR LAYOUT, FALLING APART

Builder's design

Builder’s design

 

 

Computer model not to scale or color

Computer model not to scale or color

AFTER: MORE ROOMY AND OPEN FEEL, MORE WORK AREAS

So here we are a week into the project and I have decided to use my blog to share my adventures and tips and to update the progress of this project with my family and friends- and anyone else who is pondering a kitchen makeover and wants some inside tips. Let me begin with Tip #1.

Tip #1- Plan a Getaway

Believe me. During the demolition stage you do not want to be around. There will be pieces of sheet rock, cement and tile flying through the air. Furthermore, it is noisy and very stressful to see your house getting torn apart and covered in dust- even if you hate the cabinets.

We were fortunate enough to already have a planned vacation in place the week this project began. So on Monday, I was relaxing on the Jersey shore, enjoying the sound of waves and the unseasonably warm water. Finding a text from our builder at 2:30 pm saying, “We need to talk” didn’t sound good; but, hey, I was in vacation mode. No worries, mon. If you follow HGTV as I do, you know how common it is to find serious problems when renovating, so of course, we found ours. However, as long as it was fixable without compromising our vision, we were okay with it. By 3:30 I was back on the beach with my book.

Nevertheless, I couldn’t stop myself from thinking about the project and wondering what it would look like when I got home. I figured no news was good news and enjoyed my vacation. By the time I got home, this is how it looked. The demolition was over- so it can only improve from here.

IMG_9002

Totally gutted ,even the tile floor

Totally gutted ,even the tile floor

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Jul 09, 2014 @ 22:42:15

    Not fun now, but won’t it be nice when it’s done?!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Looking Out The Window
    Jul 11, 2014 @ 08:30:22

    After years of diy we hired the replacement of cabinets out in our kitchen. It was worth it, though my husband still says we could have done it for less. And then of course it would be like the new floor half done and still sitting there two weeks later.
    What fun to have it all done and then it will be done.

    Like

    Reply

    • themiddlegeneration
      Jul 14, 2014 @ 17:28:33

      Sometimes it is worth the money to put the hassles on someone else’s shoulders. It is also important to know your limits. I am sure you are enjoying your cabinets just as much as if you had done the work yourselves.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

