How to Survive a Kitchen Makeover: Tip # 7

 

Tip #7: Have patience and remember Tip # 6!

It has been a week since my last progress report and tip. Obviously the pace of things has slowed down and many of the improvements are internal, as in not obvious to the eye.

My husband wrapped up his contribution by putting in the vent and then covering it up so that my son can reclaim his closet space.

vent to outdoors (pre- boxed in)

The overhead lights were all wired and the gas stove, refrigerator and microwave are all on the circuit.

nice and bright

IMG_9055

 

 

The granite fabricators came and laid out the template. My granite was delivered and I went to view it and place the template.

 

Andromeda granite

Andromeda granite

Corner template placement

They also gave me a chunk to carry around to compare to backsplash tiles. Husband and I have been to 4 different stores trying to find the right color.

which one do you think looks best?

which one do you think looks best?

I have been testing paint colors out, trying to merge my kitchen into the dining room, family room and hallway.

IMG_9058

The walls are being taped and spackled and should be ready to paint in a few days. The granite countertops are scheduled to be installed Tuesday. Then the plumbing needs to be fitted.

We did choose a tile and it should be here in 10 days. After which the backsplash can be installed and the hood should be the final step.

winning combo!

winning combo!

This kitchen makeover officially started June 30. Today is July 25. Obviously we had some setbacks and because we did not order our backsplash in advance we seem to be on track with the timeline I anticipated. My tip is to just keep my patience and continue to appreciate progress. There seems to be something new every day, even if it seems small. Remember, at least I have my coffeemaker and a working refrigerator…

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Looking Out The Window
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 11:21:19

    I am loving that oven in the island.

    Like

    Reply

  2. themiddlegeneration
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 18:04:16

    Actually, it is a microwave drawer. We decided that was a great way to save counter space. Also an easy spot to heat up leftovers from the fridge.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

