How to Survive a Kitchen Makeover: Tip #9

My contractor came in today and laid out the final timeline for the project. I should be done on August 25th- 9 weeks from the start date. So it has taken longer than planned, but at least the kitchen is usable. To prove my point, tip # 9 is: Act like things are normal and take on a cooking project.

Whether the project is cooking a fancy dinner, using real dishes instead of paper plates, or the strenuous but necessary endeavor I undertook, it will make you feel good about your makeover so far and help you realize it is worth the extra wait to get it done.

My project was to use the abundant zucchini in my garden and make zucchini relish. That involved a complex process using my Cuisinart food processor, a dutch oven, my canning tools, ball jars and other supplies buried in my boxes.

I uprooted everything I needed and got started. The procedure flowed smoothly and I had plenty of space to work. The 6 burner NXR gave me plenty of room to set up my stations for cooking, sanitizing, loading and steaming.

IMG_9119

Plus it was nice to have the granite countertops so I didn’t have to double layer the counters for boiling hot jars.

IMG_9121

I did start small scale because I really didn’t want to make a huge production until I tested everything out, but I ended up with 4 jars of zucchini relish (one for the fridge, 3 for long term). My grandmothers would be proud of the tradition; but, I used a recipe I traded with my pediatrician years ago when we discovered a common love for gardening- so I think I have all my bases covered.

IMG_9118

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Aug 13, 2014 @ 21:32:24

    Challenge met! Good for you!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Looking Out The Window
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 11:46:43

    Sounds like your new kitchen is going to be a wonderful match for you!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

