Kitchen Makeover: A Happy Conclusion

This update is long overdue and I apologize for the delay. The kitchen is 99% done. I am waiting for a few very minor details to be wrapped up, but I have unpacked my boxes, reorganized my dishes, pots, utensils and food pantry. I managed to accomplish all of this in time to throw a Labor Day weekend party and celebrate my beautiful kitchen- which took the entire summer to complete. All of my friends raved about it and we went all out on the food and drinks. It was a grand time and a great way to initiate the new kitchen.

Since then, I have been cooking regularly and I love it! A seat at the counter on one of those comfy red stools has become my favorite spot in the house. The NXR range is fabulous and having the extra burners makes cooking dinner much easier. The layout works really well, especially when another person is cooking at the same time; and that is exactly why we undertook this project so I am happy to report that my expectations have all been met. Sure we had some frustrations along the way, but as I look ahead to how much use we will get out of our kitchen it has all been worth it.

The island feels so inviting!

IMG_9130

And the new floor plan seems so much bigger!

 

IMG_9134

IMG_9135

We found the perfect place for everything at our party.

Even the lighting gave the right ambience...

Even the lighting gave the right ambience…

 

IMG_9140

The day after the party, we took advantage of the Labor Day sales and husband bought the Kitchenaid standing mixer he has wanted for years but never had a place for. Now in its candy red color, it deserves prime real estate on the granite countertop, don’t you agree? We are all looking forward to many more delicious meals and gatherings with family and friends.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:15:52

    I love it! Having a comfortable place to work makes it so much more pleasurable, I think.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Looking Out The Window
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 19:24:45

    The kitchen is the heart of a home and yours looks wonderful

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

