Embrace the Season

I love Autumn! Walking through the woods while crunching and swishing the dry leaves under my feet is such a wonderful sensation. I climb the short hill and get panoramic views of the colorful foliage on both neighboring ranges. Raking leaves, digging up bulbs and putting my garden to rest are satisfying routines that indicate we are fast approaching the dormant season.
In the meantime,  I am still harvesting swiss chard, Brussels sprouts,  kale, collard greens and parsley for dinners. My favorite fall flower, the hardy chrysanthemums,  are done blooming;  but that doesn’t mean I can’t find a bouquet for my table. There are plenty of dried seed pods, grasses, evergreens, berries and succulents to enjoy this time of year. It is still possible to enjoy the season and embrace the colors and textures that we don’t get any other time of year.
Happy Autumn!

image

image

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Nov 09, 2014 @ 23:36:00

    For me, autumn is wind-down time, welcome after the busy-ness of summer. The one part I do not welcome – the pine needles that layer my grounds and need to be raked and burned.

    Like

    Reply

  2. themiddlegeneration
    Nov 10, 2014 @ 11:12:16

    I am thankful that I do not have pine trees. Raking needles is not as pleasant as making a big pile of leaves to jump in before dragging them to the curb. In recent years we would make a huge leaf pile in front of the swing set and even I took a few turns with the kids. I missed doing that this year but the leaves were too wet.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

