When Mother Nature wreaks havoc, make a wreath

The day before Thanksgiving, Mother Nature gave the northeastern US a large dose of heavy snow. It was so thick and sticky that the trees all bowed their limbs under its weight.

snow storm

Some were strong and resilient; but many succumbed to their white, fluffy burden and snapped- leaving some without power and many with a lot of cleanup. Fortunately, neither of those happened to me, but my neighbors had piles of pine branches lined up at the curb.

20141203_162229

What a shame to let them go to waste.

At this time of year, I usually support the local farm and buy a decorative wreath to hang on my door. This year, I decided to make the best out of the messy situation and do some recycling instead. I grabbed my clippers and carefully cut select boughs from the discarded limbs. Then I clipped some wild bittersweet and sumac from the nearby bushes and snipped some holly and tall grasses from my garden. I meticulously tied them together with garden twine and added a red felt bow I had saved from last year.

Wreath2014

20141204_160018

My apologies to anyone who thinks the perfect wreath looks something like this;

 

but I am very pleased with my handmade, salvaged from nature, symbol of the seasons. Happy Holidays!

20141203_162146

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Dec 06, 2014 @ 00:00:20

    Yours is perfect!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    Reply

  2. MadonnaNana
    Dec 06, 2014 @ 12:03:54

    I love your wreath. It is particularly appealing to me because of its “airiness”.
    Mother Nature presented you with the materials and you worked your magic!
    How lovely to be able to enjoy that meaningful memory of early snowfall each time you enter your home.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Looking Out The Window
    Dec 07, 2014 @ 22:10:54

    I love your picture with the cardinal. I miss them and blue jays at the feeder in the winter.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

