The Calm before the Storm

photo 2

The bright sun and blue skies have disappeared behind the front edge of the approaching winter storm (I think it is silly to name winter storms, don’t you? Just another way to get everyone hyped up). This is the second time in less than a week that the northeast is again preparing for a huge snow storm. We only got 7 inches here last time- not even enough to close school so I am not going to fall into the trap of panicking and rushing to the store to stock up.  It will already be crowded with Superbowl shoppers so why do I need to compete with them, as well as those who are worried about running out of food before the snow is cleared?

Instead I decided to take advantage of the one “warm” day (if 25 can be called warm) before the frigid air moves back in. My husband and I grabbed our snow shoes and headed out with the dogs.

photo 1   photo 3

The sun gave off enough warmth that we soon had to peel off extra layers. The snow was soft and fluffy and the dogs loved rolling around in it and sniffing or marking in their favorite places. By the time we got back, our legs begged for a rest so any thoughts of reconsidering that trip to the store were gone.

I assessed my pantry and refrigerator to confirm what I already knew.

20150201_153724   20150201_153729

We have eggs, milk, cheese, coffee and bacon, yogurt, fruits and vegetables. Plus with all the staples, like tortilla shells, beans, rice, pasta, canned tomatoes and brownie mix we have plenty of options should we have to stay inside tomorrow. Maybe it won’t be fancy, but I can think of plenty of things to do creatively with what we have. Quesadillas, chili, omelettes, soup and salad will keep us satisfied for days.

20150131_182437

So as we get ready to hunker down with our fire and watch the game on tv, I am glad we got our quota of fresh air and exercise, instead of stressful shopping in the crowded store. And now I have tired dogs to cuddle with as the snow falls outside.

IMG_9575

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 23:47:55

    Much better to spend time in the fresh air than in crowded stores. Besides, I suspect there aren’t many of us that couldn’t survive quite nicely for a few days on what’s in our pantries.

    Like

    Reply

  2. themiddlegeneration
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 12:55:34

    I think the key is to not buy into the anxiety producing weather forecasts and just always have some basic staples on hand. I found enough ingredients to make a shrimp jambalaya for dinner. That doesn’t sound bad at all.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Looking Out The Window
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 23:15:22

    I agree so much about this notion that suddenly we need to name snow storms. It always amazes me that folks stock up for a storm, other than possibly running out of milk we can always make due with what we have. Like you we have full pantry and a few cans of milk for soup if need be, so other than milk to drink we are always in the clear.

    It looks like you have a great base down for the snow shoes.

    Like

    Reply

  4. themiddlegeneration
    Feb 04, 2015 @ 18:56:52

    When Mother Nature gives you snow, take advantage! We xc skied today! And came home to chicken soup in the slow cooker. All ingredients from the freezer or pantry.

    Like

    Reply

  5. suzicate
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 20:04:36

    Oh yes, the famous fridge/freezer/cabinet check before the “big one”! When our children left the coop we discovered we had enough food stocked for a month! I recently stocked the freezer, so I sure hope we don’t get a storm and lose power!

    Like

    Reply

    • themiddlegeneration
      Feb 08, 2015 @ 20:54:15

      Yes, losing power would be bad if you had a lot in your freezer. I can’t believe we have yet another wave of storms coming through. I am definitely taking my own advice and not running to the store. I can live on beans and rice for a few days if I need to. It is amazing how the media gets us so programmed into believing something other than our own rational plans.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

