Aromatherapy: The Wonder of Nature’s Perfume

TulipFestAfter a long, cold winter, I can hardly complain about the heat and humidity of the last few days. It seems hard to believe that only a few days ago, I was covering my sensitive annuals with hay due to a frost advisory.

IMG_9627Nevertheless, my perennial bulbs are loving this heat spell and I am taking full advantage of the abundance of blooms to bring indoors.

If you have followed my blog over the years, you know my favorite flowers are Lilacs. These are my Miss Kim Lilacs-which bloom 2 weeks later than the standard ones- so my Lilac season lasts much longer than one would think possible. Putting my nose into the florets is “heavenly bliss”. I have no other way to describe the delightful aromas that put me into a state of ecstasy.LilacBliss

Then my Iris start opening- both single and double bearded varieties. The single ones have a sugary powdered scent that satisfies my cravings, while the doubles have a darker, richer fragrance that doesn’t let me go.HeavenlyIris

This year at almost the same time, the Peonies began opening. They have a completely different aura. Sweet, but more sophisticated, with layers of roses infiltrated into them- wild, climbing, tea- all varieties are collected into one breed.Peony9698

I spent Memorial Day weekend catching up on yardwork, with many hours spent outside. By  the time I returned to work on Tuesday I wasn’t sure I could take even a half day indoors. I decided to bring a bouquet of flowers to the office. I collected Peonies, Iris and Lilacs and set them up in my 150 sq. ft office that I share with my partner.

20150526_211216

We enjoyed the sweet wafts of scent that the breezes from  our open window spread around the room. However, the real aromatherapy was noticed when our colleagues came bursting in the door- frantically asking us questions- and then paused, mid-sentence- to notice how wonderful our flowers smelled. By the time they were done taking in and appreciating the beautiful display, they had forgotten the urgency of their visit and we were able to conduct business in a much more agreeable way.

Too bad I don’t know of any season that yields more fragrant flowers than the month of May. As the days get hotter, the fragrances are only noticeable to the birds and the bees. As beautiful as Sunflowers, Phlox, poppies and Gladiolus are, they really don’t have the same scent appeal. May is the season for Aromatherapy.IMG_9645

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    May 27, 2015 @ 23:40:42

    Love the scents of lilacs and peonies. Had not thought about the lack of scent later in the year, but you are right. May is the month for nose and soul satisfying scents.

    Like

    Reply

    • themiddlegeneration
      May 28, 2015 @ 19:49:05

      Probably the exception is roses which start flowering in June-July. Other than that I can’t think of anything that comes close to these mid-spring wonders. I am taking full advantage of them and have bouquets in most rooms of my house.

      Like

      Reply

  2. suzicate
    May 28, 2015 @ 06:56:11

    Beautiful flowers! Peonies are one thing I’ve never tried to grow but adore.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Donna Jonas
    May 28, 2015 @ 09:53:52

    What a delightful fragrance ! Believe it or not…I lived the aromatherapy experience through the email…then pulled up the pix and had a visual bath as I enjoyed each blossom! I do miss having a garden…but, not the effort necessary to maintain it! So now I walk about enjoying a blooming Boston and flower gardens of others.

    Nice piece Laura!!

    Love

    MadonnaNana

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    Reply

    • themiddlegeneration
      May 28, 2015 @ 19:45:01

      I tried to describe the fragrances of each flower, but I don’t think the words exist. I am glad you were able to imagine the scents from the photos. Maybe that is why they are so remarkable- they must imprint themselves in our olfactory senses.

      Like

      Reply

  4. Looking Out The Window
    May 29, 2015 @ 11:51:04

    I love this post. It reminds me of flower gardens that my grandma had. There were like yours full of many kinds and you are so right the smells are each so distinct but words can’t capture it.

    Like

    Reply

  5. themiddlegeneration
    May 29, 2015 @ 13:39:45

    It is amazing how the smells of flowers can bring back memories. My grandfather had a beautiful memorial rose garden with every color and fragrance imaginable. Unfortunately, my zone is too cold for such delicate bushes.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

