So I’m 50 and Now What!!!?#$%&;@

Since my 50th birthday, 2 weeks ago, I have calmed down about the whole Milestone decade thing. My days at work breezed by without a blink. No one knew or cared. Life was the same. The only people that mattered made sure to celebrate me. I had a wonderful time with my siblings and cousins, who are so close to me that we were able to enjoy a very special girls getaway.

As part of my promise to myself,  I saw my PCP. I was very pleased to get a clean bill of health. I received my annual flu shot, my cholesterol and blood pressure report and a referral to get a colonoscopy.

Okay, I’ll admit that one was not a surprise. I knew it was coming. but that doesn’t mean I am looking forward to it. However, I do resolve to take care of myself and do all my tests this year: my mammogram, my eye exam and my dermatologist.

So , as a reward for being so proactive in my health regimen, I decided to reward myself with a facial. I booked one at my local spa. Anti-aging was my goal. I wanted to get some relief for those dark circles and age spots.

I enjoyed a very relaxing facial treatment while she explained the benefits of each product. I was almost convinced that the eye cream with Retinol A, cucumber extract and caffeine was just what I needed to improve my complexion.

When I walked up to the counter and saw the product waiting for me, with an $80 price tag for less than one ounce, I balked. I am not old enough,wrinkled enough, or dull enough to justify such an extravagant and expensive beauty cream. No Thank You! Try me again when I’m 60!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Sep 27, 2015 @ 19:19:21

    Or 70. I have not yet found that miracle cream. I have grown to believe when the dark circles are gifted you as part of the hereditary package, they are there to stay. Oh yes, happy belated birthday, you who are but a babe in arms.

    Like

    Reply

    • themiddlegeneration
      Sep 28, 2015 @ 20:57:29

      I am sure you know that you are only as old as you feel. Certainly with all of your adventures you must feel quite youthful- or at least middle aged. Keep up all the great travels and photos. I hope I will be doing that when I hit 70!

      Like

      Reply

  2. Donna Jonas
    Sep 28, 2015 @ 16:26:11

    I love this piece!
    Yeah…perhaps when you are 60!
    Or keep postponing that purchase until you’re my age when nothing will help…except for a great attitude, a smile on your face and a commitment to be an enthusiastic citizen of the world!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

