Liberte, Egalite, Fraternite

Paris3159

Last night, my husband and I went out to a local restaurant and then a live musical show with another couple. It was a Saturday night and it should be our right to enjoy these activities without fear of endangerment. The terrorists who carried out these attacks in Paris don’t deserve to be called human. They are evil and have committed heinous deeds. I find it hard to believe that there is a higher benevolent power that condones the slaughter of innocents in his/her name.

Je t’aime Paris! It is the city of love and legend. It is the place I would go for a romantic getaway- which I have done on more than one occasion; and I am sure a number of the victims were there for the same reason.

I am saddened to learn that Paris has been attacked by Islamic extremists. The city is on  lockdown and the French borders are closed. The only consolation is that my daughter is not among the casualties. She is studying abroad in another city of France- although she had contemplated travelling to Paris for the weekend to see the Eagles of Death Metal perform at the Bataclan theater.

Fortunately (in this case) she had a conflict in her school schedule which changed her decision for weekend travel plans. She has been in France since August and has found the French people to be very friendly. She has enjoyed the freedom of travelling throughout Europe- whether to Switzerland, Netherlands, Spain or within France. What a shame that this wonderful global experience is being dampened by fear and hate.

IMG_7375

President Obama proclaimed that France and America share the values of life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. Isn’t that what all the victims of the attack were doing Friday night- good food, entertainment, camaraderie? That is exactly what my husband and I, our friends and countless other people were doing together on Saturday night. While I enjoyed the food and the show, I could not stop thinking about how it would feel if someone came busting through the door with AK-47s or bombs.

While Paris seems far away, I definitely felt like I was attending the show in the spirit of not letting terrorists get us down. My daughter, on the other hand, reported that no one is going to the  cafes or restaurants in her area. I am sure she will have travel restrictions in the coming week.

I don’t know what can be done to  stop the spread of terror, but I hope the next round of presidential debates give us some answers. In the meantime, I am thankful my daughter is safe. And I thank her for all the photos in this post. My thoughts and prayers are with the people of France. Je suis desolee. But we shall overcome….

ARch7613

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jazzspera
    Nov 15, 2015 @ 23:15:49

    How lucky for your daughter to not have ended up going to the concert! Everything happens for a reason, I suppose.. I hope she stays safe in France, it was a tragedy what’s happened.

    Like

    Reply

    • themiddlegeneration
      Nov 16, 2015 @ 17:41:40

      Yes, I am so saddened by the attacks and destruction. I hope the global community can come together and take a strong stance to stop ISIS from causing further bloodshed. This is the time to put aside petty differences and join arms.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Looking Out The Window
    Nov 16, 2015 @ 10:48:12

    So agree with your post. It spoke so many of my thoughts. I am so glad that your daughter is well. Seems a little selfish to be thankful when so so many have been lost, injured and robbed of their peace. Thanks for taking the time to share this with us.

    Like

    Reply

    • themiddlegeneration
      Nov 16, 2015 @ 17:36:51

      Thank you for your wishes. I can’t imagine how the parents of the California student killed are feeling. My heart goes out to them and to the families of all the other victims. I am just hoping things don’t get too rocky before she comes home.At least the security has been tightened and she is probably safer than she was a week ago.

      Like

      Reply

  3. Carol
    Nov 16, 2015 @ 11:29:43

    So glad there was a conflict that changed your daughter’s plans. As to the state of our world – I am sad, weary, frightened, and bleak. We need help.

    Like

    Reply

  4. themiddlegeneration
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 19:39:38

    Donna Jonas
    Nov 16, 2015 @ 09:37:30 Edit

    My heart is saddened! What a disappointment to be reminded once again of the evil and hatred that exists on this beautiful planet.
    Once again I am forced to confront the fact that human beings are capable of such heinous behavior.
    At 80 years of age, I still have great difficulty accepting this fact.
    I will continue to express “the other side” by committing to do daily acts of kindness and love .
    It takes so little to be caring …and the payoff feels sooooo good!
    We shall overcome !!!

    Like

    Reply

    themiddlegeneration
    Nov 16, 2015 @ 17:49:45 Edit

    I like your determination to counteract evil with kindness. It is the little things we do for others every day that make this world a better place. To overcome we need to put aside our petty differences and work together for the common good. Hopefully our world leaders make some good decisions at the global conference. In the meantime, we should go about our lives without discrimination and show kindness to people of all races and identities.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

