A Voting Reflection

Several years ago (actually 2011-is that a few?)  I posted a copy of an Op Ed that I had published in a local paper Voting Booth Nostalgia .

I bemoaned the switch from  “now-vintage” voting booths with levers, tabs and curtains to the digital scanning method of voting.

Local school budgets are up for voter approval today. My 19 yr old daughter is home from college for a few weeks . So I told her she was eligible to cast her ballot. My husband even tried to entice her to participate by telling her that this was her chance to use the old voting booths.

Despite what my hypothesis was in my OpEd Voting Booth Nostalgia ,

she was totally against my expectations (should I be surprised?)

Her reaction was: “Well, I’m claustrophobic. Those booths would scare me. I would be afraid I couldn’t get out. And I don’t understand how to flip the buttons.”  Who would have thought? I guess my argument was totally wrong. (Actually my argument has been disproven).

Nevertheless, I went to vote today, all excited to pull the lever, and instead was handed a paper ballot and a pen.

The mechanical era is over…

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    May 17, 2016 @ 22:00:39

    Our paper ballots are mailed to us about 3 weeks before the election. After we make our choices, we can either mail it back or put it in a drop box. I love it.

    Like

    Reply

  2. themiddlegeneration
    May 18, 2016 @ 09:48:01

    I guess that is much more convenient. It is so hard to increase turnout for elections. Do you think that method encourages people to participate? It would be interesting to compare numbers between states that use the mail in method versus show up at the polling place.

    Like

    Reply

  3. leendadll
    Nov 11, 2016 @ 19:18:26

    I have only ever voted (including this past Tues) by using a color “pen” on paper, through the guidance holes to get the ink on the right spot. have never used levers or electronic voting methods. And I live in a MAJOR metropolis.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

