Caretakers of the Earth

As a member of the Middle Generation, most of my blogs involve stories about people- both older and younger than me. Today, however, I would like to point out that the Middle Generation is also responsible for taking care of our planet. We are the bridge between what was left to us by our parents and grandparents and what we leave to our children and grandchildren.

We may think our actions do not make a difference, but I saw something this afternoon that gives me hope…

Several years ago, the plight of the Monarch butterflies became a national interest. Their disrupted migration patterns and disappearance from their regular habitats  were showcased in Barbara Kingsolver’s “Flight Behavior”- which gave readers the beautiful image of what a wonder these creatures are!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monarch_butterfly

Shortly after reading the book, which consequently spurred multiple discussions and pleas for help in the news, I decided to take a small step and see if I could help save the Monarchs from extinction.

One of the trails in my neighborhood is a host site for Milkweed- the native food supply for Monarchs. I transplanted several roots into my garden in the hopes that I could attract the precious butterflies. Each year, the plants spread and produced more roots. This June, I saw beautiful flowers on them for the first time! Sadly though, even with the flowers in peak season, not a single Monarch came to drink. I was sitting on my deck a week ago, thinking what a shame and that maybe my efforts had been futile. I even considered pulling them all out at the end of the season.

http://blog.nwf.org/2015/02/twelve-native-milkweeds-for-monarchs/

 

Miraculously then, it seems, today I spotted a bright orange butterfly- which I can only believe was a Monarch- flitting around amongst my patch of Milkweed! I only saw one- but if she laid her eggs on one of my plants- maybe in a few weeks there could be dozens of caterpillars! And after that, another metamorphosis into fill-blown butterflies!

http://www.monarch-butterfly.com/

I didn’t dare go closer to disturb the process. Maybe in a few days I will check if there are any eggs, but for now you will have to accept these images I found on the web. And until then,  I am hopeful that I may have assisted this majestic species in its survival effort.

I can’t say that saving one butterfly is enough, but if that butterfly reproduces and its offspring reproduces and so on- it could make a difference in the long run. Just think what could happen if everyone was able to save one Monarch?

So my message to you is:  find a cause that you believe in and do your best to support it- whether it is for clean air or water, saving an endangered species or any other aspect of climate change. If we each do our part as caretakers of the earth, we can hopefully leave this world in better condition for the next generations.

UPDATE: 8/5/17

I spotted this caterpillar on the milkweed leaf this afternoon. I verified that it is indeed a Monarch.  The pictures  below show it’s parent laying the eggs a few weeks ago. Now I just hope it makes its way through the chrysalis stage without getting consumed by a predator.

  

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Looking Out The Window
    Aug 05, 2017 @ 10:13:04

    I loved your post. I often feel like I am alone fighting for what I believe is right. I feel stomped on and often afraid to speak up because of the folks who disagree are so intolerant of another point of view. You reminded me to celebrate the things that I do that no one knows about. To celebrate the things that we do that seem too insignificant or small to make a difference, You reminded me that things that appear to not make a difference may be one of those things that are like butterfly wings flapping and it can change the world in ways I may never know or understand. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply

  2. LivingHealthyMatters
    Aug 05, 2017 @ 12:53:18

    Thank you for your kind appreciation. If my words help even one person feel more positive, then I am happy. Many of your posts have similar sentiments which I also find uplifting. It may be hard to find those moments these days so we need to grab onto whatever we can, whether it is a plate of cookies we made for a sick friend or a small deed to save a butterfly. Stay optimistic!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

